CJS Steering Committee

The CJS Steering Committee is made up of interested persons from the UNC Asheville faculty, administration, and staff, as well as members of the local Jewish community.

Center for Jewish Studies Steering Committee

Dr. Richard Chess, Co-Director
UNC Asheville, English
rchess@unca.edu

Dr. Doria Killian, Co-Director
UNC Asheville, Languages and Literatures
dkillian@unca.edu

Faculty and Staff Subcommittee: 

Dr. Rodger Payne, Chair
rpayne@unca.edu

Dr. Regine Criser, Languages and Literatures
rcriser@unca.edu

Mark Gibney, J.D., Ph.D., Belk Distinguished Professor of Humanities and Professor of Political Science
mgibney@unca.edu

Dr. Lora Holland, Classics
lholland@unca.edu

Gene Hyde, Head of Special Collections and University Archives
ghyde@unca.edu

Dr. Sarah Judson, History and Africana Studies
sjudson@unca.edu

Dr. Samuel Kaplan-Gershon, Mathematics
skaplan@unca.edu

Sonia Marcus, Sustainability
smarcus@unca.edu

Dr. Erik Roubinek, History
eroubine@unca.edu

Community Subcommittee: 

Ronald Manheimer, Chair
ronaldmanheimer@gmail.com

Sharon Fahrer

Marty Gillen

Jeffrey Kaplan

Jane Roman-Pitt

Sara Yakira

Ex-officio Members

Rabbi Justin Goldstein
Beth Israel NC
rabbi@bethisraelnc.org

Rabbi Batsheva Meiri
Beth HaTephila Congregation
rabbi@bethhatephila.org

Rabbi  Shaya Susskind
The Chabad House, Asheville
rabbi@chabadasheville.org

UNC Asheville Hillel

Dov Wiener, UNC Asheville Hillel President
lwiener@unca.edu